Events

Friday, July 26, 2013 - 9:30pm to 10:30pm

Family Nights are a great introduction to the night sky for our younger guests. Look through telescopes, visit the Skylab and find out what's really up there! 

Saturday, July 20, 2013 - 9:00pm to 10:00pm

Star talk nights offer great talks by great speakers on astronomy, space science and sometimes, science fiction.

RASC City Star Party @ Bayview Village
Monday, July 15, 2013 to Friday, July 19, 2013

Want to see the rings of Saturn? What about bright nebulae or galaxies? Our monthly City Star Party is the perfect place to catch the views within the city. Looking to buy a new scope?

Saturday, July 13, 2013 - 9:00pm to 10:00pm

Star talk nights offer great talks by great speakers on astronomy, space science and sometimes, science fiction.

Friday, July 12, 2013 - 9:30pm to 10:30pm

Family Nights are a great introduction to the night sky for our younger guests. Look through telescopes, visit the Skylab and find out what's really up there! 

dark_sky_star_party.jpg
Monday, July 8, 2013 to Friday, July 12, 2013

Want to learn to image? Want to see galaxies and the milky way naked eye? Want to do it less than an hour from Toronto? Then join us for our monthly Dark Sky Star Party at the Long Sault Conservation area.

Saturday, July 6, 2013 - 10:00am to 12:00pm

Join us at the Ontario Science Centre for our monthly Solar Observing on the TelusScape observing pad. We meet the first Saturday of every month with our specialized telescopes that are safe to aim at the Sun.

Recreational Astronomy Meeting
Wednesday, July 3, 2013 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm

Join us for our monthly recrational astronomy night meeting at the Ontario Scienc

Saturday, June 29, 2013 - 9:30pm to 10:30pm

Family Nights are a great introduction to the night sky for our younger guests. Look through telescopes, visit the Skylab and find out what's really up there! 

Friday, June 28, 2013 to Sunday, June 30, 2013

The RASC General Assembly is an annual meeting for all members from all RASC Centres. This year's Assembly is held in Thunderbay.

Friday, June 21, 2013

This is the first day of summer in the northern hemisphere, and the first day of winter in the southern hemisphere. The Sun will have reached its northernmost position in the sky, with the north pole tilting towards the sun.

SNOLAB detector
Monday, June 17, 2013

SNO LAB is an underground science laboratory specializing in neutrino and dark matter physics.

Saturday, June 15, 2013 - 9:30pm to 10:30pm

Family Nights are a great introduction to the night sky for our younger guests. Look through telescopes, visit the Skylab and find out what's really up there! 

Monday, June 10, 2013 to Friday, June 14, 2013

Want to see the rings of Saturn? What about bright nebulae or galaxies? Our monthly City Star Party is the perfect place to catch the views within the city. Looking to buy a new scope?

Saturday, June 8, 2013 - 10:00am to 12:00pm

Join us at the Ontario Science Centre for our monthly Solar Observing on the TelusScape observing pad. We meet the first Saturday of every month with our specialized telescopes that are safe to aim at the Sun.

Friday, June 7, 2013 to Sunday, June 9, 2013

This star party is a Toronto Centre event and a chance to get an early start on the camping season under the pristine dark skies that Algonquin Park is famous for.  

David Levy @ The Ontario Science Centre June 5, 6:30 pm
Wednesday, June 5, 2013 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm

DAVID LEVY

A Night watchman's Journey:  My Adventures as a comet discoverer and sky watcher

dark_sky_star_party.jpg
Monday, June 3, 2013 to Friday, June 7, 2013

Want to learn to image? Want to see galaxies and the milky way naked eye? Want to do it less than an hour from Toronto? Then join us for our monthly Dark Sky Star Party at the Long Sault Conservation area.

Saturday, June 1, 2013 to Sunday, June 2, 2013

Carr Observatory Open House and Awards Picnic.

Thursday, May 30, 2013 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Topic: Logging and Sketching your observations
Location: David Dunlap Observatory

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

In the evening sky, Jupiter and Venus will be within 1 degree of each other. Look west near sunset for the sight, and see if you can spot Mercury lurking nearby.

Saturday, May 25, 2013 - 9:30pm to 10:30pm

Family Nights are a great introduction to the night sky for our younger guests. Look through telescopes, visit the Skylab and find out what's really up there! 

2012 Lunar Eclipse, by Paul Mortfield, RASC Member
Saturday, May 25, 2013

The first eclipse of 2013 visible in North America- at least most of it. The moon will pass through the Earth's penumbra, causing subtle darkening on the Moon's surface.

Thursday, May 23, 2013 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Topic: Astrophotography
Location: David Dunlap Observatory
More information on this Spring's program.

Rachel Ward-Maxwell, PhD candidate, McMaster University
Wednesday, May 22, 2013 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm

Stars are born in firey explosions of light, and they die in much the same way. But what happens in the time between? PhD candidate Rachel Ward-Maxwell of McMaster University joins us to talk about how stars evolve.

Saturday, May 18, 2013 - 5:30pm to 10:00pm

One of the benefits of membership in the RASC Toronto Centre is access to specially arranged Members Nights at the David Dunlap Observatory in Richmond Hill.

Thursday, May 16, 2013 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Topics: Orientation to RASC Toronto Centre activities, facilities and all perks and “Astronomy on a budget”
Location: David Dunlap Observatory

Monday, May 13, 2013 to Friday, May 17, 2013

Want to see the rings of Saturn? What about bright nebulae or galaxies? Our monthly City Star Party is the perfect place to catch the views within the city. Looking to buy a new scope?

Annular Eclipse 2012 by Jim Chung, RASC Member
Friday, May 10, 2013

The annular Solar Eclipse will begin in western Australia, then move east across the central pacific ocean.

Pages